General information

"Dialogue" is the largest international conference on computational linguistics and intellectual technologies in Russia and a world leading forum on problems of computational analysis of the Russian language with rich historical traditions.

The conference has been held annually since 1995 and is the successor of the seminar "Models of Communication", held since the 1970s.

Aims and objectives

"Dialogue" covers a broad range of problems and practical tasks in computational linguistics, from linguistic research to the process solution in the end product. Particular attention is focused on modeling, analysis and creation of computational resources for Russian.

In full compliance with its name, the conference is a traditional venue for specialists in linguistics, communication, knowledge representation and automatic text processing to meet, discuss their ideas, and share expertise.

This collaboration aims to resolve a broad range of problems in the automatic processing of natural language. The scientific objective involves generating theoretical and linguistic descriptions of the degree of completeness and explicitness in order to resolve the aforesaid tasks. This orientation of the engineering toward adequate linguistic and communicative models is what distinguishes Dialogue from the majority of computational linguistics conferences.

The main topics of the conference

  • Communication models
  • Corpus linguistics: creation, markup, evaluation, and use of text corpora
  • Digital linguistic resources
  • Document analysis: classification, search, sentiment analysis, and related areas
  • Formal language models and their use in computational linguistics
  • Linguistic analysis of social media
  • Linguistic ontologies and automatic knowledge extraction
  • Machine translation of text and speech
  • Models and methods of semantic text analysis
  • Speech analysis
  • Theoretical and computational lexicography
  • Typology and computational linguistics

 Components of the conference

The conference consists of plenary meetings, special and poster sessions, round-table discussions, and practical demonstrations of software. By tradition, each year the Dialogue Organizing Committee selects the main themes, called "dominants".

Notable events of the conference are the talks given by the "stars" of world linguistics, summing up the results of the Dialogue Evaluation, and Technology Day.

Dialogue Evaluation is an independent testing lab that conducts impartial and thorough analysis of advanced linguistic technologies. Testing has already been conducted of the following subjects: “sentiment analysis”, “semantic similarity”, “named entity recognition and fact extraction”, “machine translation” and others.

The main goal of Technology Day is intellectual exchange and collaboration between representatives of science and industry. It is a place where potential customers of linguistic technologies can assess and compare prototypes and solutions.

Features of the publication of papers

All papers accepted by reviewers for presentation at the conference will be published in the conference proceedings, which will be available on a digital medium and on the Dialogue website.

Reviewers and the Editorial Board will select about 70 of the best papers for inclusion in Computational Linguistics and Intelligent Technologies, a publication indexed by Scopus.

Общая информация

«Диалог» является крупнейшей в России международной научной конференцией по компьютерной лингвистике и ведущим мировым форумом по проблемам компьютерного анализа русского языка с богатыми историческими традициями.

Конференция проходит ежегодно с 1995 года и является наследницей проводившегося с середины 70-х годов междисциплинарного семинара «Модели общения».

Цели и задачи

«Диалог» предлагает к обсуждению широкий спектр проблем и практических задач компьютерной лингвистики на всем пути от лингвистического исследования до технологического решения в конечном продукте. Особенное внимание уделяется проблемам моделирования, анализа и создания компьютерных ресурсов для русского языка.

В полном соответствии со своим названием конференция является традиционным местом встречи и интенсивного обмена идеями между специалистами в области лингвистики, коммуникации, представления знаний, автоматической обработки текста.

Практической целью этого междисциплинарного общения является решение широкого спектра задач автоматической обработки естественного языка. Научная цель заключается в том, чтобы получить теоретические и языковые описания той степени полноты и эксплицитности, которая позволила бы решать вышеуказанные задачи. В этой ориентации инженерной практики на адекватные лингвистические и коммуникативные модели и состоит специфика «Диалога», отличающая его от большинства конференций по компьютерной лингвистике.

Основные направления конференции

  • Компьютерные лингвистические ресурсы
  • Компьютерный анализ документов (классификация, поиск, анализ тональности и т.д.)
  • Корпусная лингвистика (создание, разметка, методики применения и оценка корпусов)
  • Лингвистические онтологии и автоматическое извлечение знаний
  • Лингвистический анализ Social media
  • Лингвистический анализ речи
  • Машинный перевод текста и речи
  • Модели и методы семантического анализа текста
  • Модели общения
  • Теоретическая и компьютерная лексикография
  • Типология и компьютерная лингвистика
  • Формальные модели языка и их применение в компьютерной лингвистике

Составляющие конференции

Программа конференции включает пленарные заседания, специальные и стендовые сессии, круглые столы, демонстрации программных систем. По традиции «Диалога» оргкомитетом каждый год выбираются главные темы, называемые «доминантами» конференции.

Яркими событиями конференции являются выступления приглашенных «звезд» мировой лингвистики, подведение итогов соревнований Dialogue Evaluation, а также День технологий.

Dialogue Evaluation – это независимая техническая лаборатория, каждый год проводящая тщательный анализ передовых лингвистических технологий. В рамках Dialogue Evaluation уже были проведены тестирования по следующим темам: «Анализ тональности», «Анализ семантического сходства», «Анализ местоименной анафоры и кореферентных связей», «Машинный перевод» и другие.

Основная цель Дня технологий – это обмен опытом между научным сообществом и представителями индустрии. Это место, где потенциальные заказчики лингвистических технологий могут сравнить различные решения в области компьютерной лингвистики.

Особенности публикации докладов

Все работы, принятые по результатам рецензирования к представлению на конференции, публикуются в электронных материалах конференции и на сайте «Диалога».

Около 70 докладов, отобранных рецензентами и редакционной коллегией, публикуются в индексируемом SCOPUS сборнике «Компьютерная лингвистика и интеллектуальные технологии».