Materials of DIALOGUE 2020

Dialogue 2020

The annual scientific conference on computational linguistics and intelligent technologies "Dialogue" (26th in a row) was held in an online format for the first time.

Over the course of four days, researchers presented about a hundred reports in 14 thematic sections; more than 600 participants (linguists, data analysts, development engineers, and students) registered for various events at the conference. "Dialogue" remains the largest conference in its field in Russia.

In addition to the sections, there were round tables and panel discussions on the most pressing issues in the field of natural language processing (NLP). Topics discussed included new technological barriers in NLP, creating competitive open research resources for analyzing the Russian, and the reliability of research conducted on large Internet data.

In particular, the technological barrier in computer understanding of texts, a new open platform "RuSuperGlu" for collecting resources and methods of intellectual analysis of Russian, and a new effective open library "NeoML" for machine learning from ABBYY were presented and discussed.

"The conference is a mirror of what is happening today in NLP, one of the most rapidly developing area of Artificial Intelligence. Organizers do not need to come up with special topics for discussion, such topics naturally arise in the rapid flow of events, which involves many thousands of scientists and engineers around the world. Another thing is that sometimes you need to slow down a little and look around, compare plans with colleagues, analyze trends, not forgetting in particular what has always been a feature of the Dialogue: an interdisciplinary approach and a special interest in analyzing Russian" – comments Vladimir Selegey, Chairman of the program Committee of the Dialogue, Director of the Department of advanced research at ABBYY.

Invited speakers of the Dialogue have always been world-renowned scientists associated with the most" hot " research topics. This year, a speech by Manfred Stede from the University of Potsdam was of particular interest. This scientist is known primarily for his research in the field of automatic analysis of text logic, the so-called Argument Mining. In his report, he spoke about how modern research on the argumentative structure of texts is related to the practical tasks of automatic retrieval of information.

Proceedings 2020

“Computational Linguistics and Intellectual Technologies”

The Conference Proceedings contain papers from the international conference on Computational Linguistics and Intellectual Technologies “Dialogue”, representing a large range of theoretical and applied research in the area of natural language description, language process description, creation of applied computer-linguistic technologies. 

READ PROCEEDINGS

Dialogue Evaluation 2020

Traditionally, an important part of the "Dialogue" was the Dialogue Evaluation forum, which summarizes the results of technological competitions for developers of automatic text analysis systems in Russian. Three competitions were held: to automatically determine the meaning of new terms by context, syntactic analysis, extraction from texts, and evaluation of goals and plans of economic activity. The result of such competitions is a new quality standard for solving such problems, with which all researchers can compare their achievements. The results of the Dialogue Evaluation once again demonstrated a sharp rejuvenation of computational linguistics: almost all the winners are students or recent graduates of universities. MIPT looks especially successful here. Yesterday's students of MIPT won two of the three competitions this year.

Invited speakers

Manfred Stede

Manfred Stede

Manfred Stede / Germany

Potsdam University

Presentations

Photos

Videos

  • Manfred Stede

    From coherence relations to argumentation mining
  • Round table «NLP- Challenge UPGREAT READ//ABLE»
  • Round table «Ru_Open-Source Universe»

Материалы конференции DIALOGUE 2020

Диалог 2020

Ежегодная научная конференция по компьютерной лингвистике и интеллектуальным технологиям «Диалог» (26 по счету) впервые прошла в онлайн-формате.

За четыре дня исследователи представили около сотни докладов на 14 тематических секциях; на  разные события конференции зарегистрировались более 600 участников – лингвистов, специалистов по анализу данных, инженеров-разработчиков и студентов. «Диалог» остается самой крупной конференцией по своему направлению в России.

Помимо секций прошли круглые столы и панельные дискуссии, посвященные самым актуальным проблемам в области обработки естественного языка. Среди обсуждавшихся тем: новые технологические барьеры в этой области Искусственного Интеллекта, создание конкурентных открытых исследовательских ресурсов для анализа Русского Языка, надежность исследований, проводимых на больших Интернет-данных.

В частности был представлен и обсужден технологический барьер в компьютерном понимании текстов, новая открытая платформа для сбора ресурсов и методов интеллектуального анализа русского языка RuSuperGlue, новая эффективная открытая библиотека машинного обучения NeoML от компании ABBYY.

«Диалог – это зеркало того что сегодня происходит в NLP (Natural Language Processing), одной из самых бурно развивающихся областей Искусственного Интеллекта. Организаторам не нужно придумывать специальных тем для обсуждения, такие темы сами естественно возникают в стремительном потоке событий, в котором участвуют многие тысячи ученых и инженеров во всем мире. Другое дело, что иногда требуется немного замедлить шаг и оглянуться вокруг, сверить планы с коллегами, проанализировать тенденции, не забывая в частности то,  что всегда было особенностью Диалога: междисциплинарный подход и особый интерес к анализу Русского Языка» – комментирует Владимир Селегей,  председатель Программного комитета Диалога, директор департамента перспективных исследований компании ABBYY.

Приглашенными докладчиками Диалога всегда были  ученые с мировым именем, связанные с самыми «горячими»  темами исследований. В этом году особый интерес вызвало выступление Манфреда Штеде из Потсдамского университета. Этот ученый известен прежде всего своими исследованиями в области автоматического  анализа  логики текстов, т.н. Argumentation Mining. В своем докладе на "Диалоге" он рассказал о том, как связаны современные исследования аргументативной структуры текстов с практическими задачами автоматического извлечения информации.

Сборник 2020

«Компьютерная лингвистика и интеллектуальные технологии»

Сборник включает доклады международной конференции по компьютерной лингвистике и интеллектуальным технологиям «Диалог», представляющие широкий спектр теоретических и прикладных исследований в области описания естественного языка, моделирования языковых процессов, создания практически применимых компьютерных лингвистических технологий.

Читать сборник

Итоги соревнований Dialogue Evaluation 2020

Традиционно важной частью «Диалога» стал форум Dialogue Evaluation, в рамках которого подводятся итоги технологических соревнований разработчиков систем автоматического анализа текстов на Русском Языке. Было проведено три соревнования: по автоматическому определению значений новых терминов по контексту, синтаксическому анализу,  извлечению из текстов и оценке целей и планов экономической деятельности. Результатом таких соревнований становятся новые стандарты качества решений таких задач, с которыми могут сверять свои достижения все исследователи. Результаты Dialogue Evaluation в очередной раз продемонстрировали резкое омоложение компьютерной лингвистики: практически все победители -- студенты или совсем недавние выпускники университетов. Особенно успешно выглядит тут  МФТИ, вчерашние студенты  которого выиграли два из трех соревнований этого года.

Приглашенный докладчик

Манфред Штеде

Манфред Штеде

Manfred Stede / Germany

Potsdam University

Фотографии

Видео

  • Манфред Штеде

    From coherence relations to argumentation mining
  • Круглый стол «ПРО//ЧТЕНИЕ, или как правильно поставить (и решить) задачу понимания текста»
  • Круглый стол "Ru_Open-Source Universe: новые открытые ресурсы для решения и тестирования задач русского языка "